Modify Reservation to Group Reservation 

Stay is enhanced to allow users to associate an existing reservation with a group by searching for the group code in the Modify Stay screen. When a reservation is modified to a group reservation, the group eligibility, availability, room block constraints, and policies will be evaluated based on the selected group rate plan and stay dates. 

Permission 

The following existing permission must be assigned to enable users to overbook group room types while modifying reservations. 

  • Stay_OverbookGroupBlock 

When modifying a reservation and searching for a group code, the group rate plan will be displayed to the user only when all the following conditions are satisfied: 

  • Reservation dates overlap with group dates completelys.  

  • Room type is blocked and available for one or more nights of the reservation stay.  

  • Room type is blocked but sold out (overbooked). 

Only regular groups will be displayed. Event-only groups will not be displayed. Users can select the group rate plan for one or more nights of the reservation. 

Overbook Room Type 

Users with the Stay_OverbookGroupBlock permission assigned can overbook group room types when modifying reservations. When the overbooking occurs at the group block level, the following message will be displayed: Please note that this action will result in overbooking on the group block. Click here for details. 

When users click on the Click here hyperlink, the Overbooking Details pop-up screen appears that displays the following details: 

Field

Description

Room Types

Room type that will be overbooked.

Date

Dates when the overbooking occurred.

Block Overbooked

Overbooking count at the group block level.

Availability

General inventory remaining after block reduction.

Only users with the required permission are allowed to save the changes. 
When a user without the permission attempts to proceed, Stay will prompt them to enter the credentials of another authorized user. 

Based on the property configuration, release block behaviour (return or move block) will be applied automatically. 

Select Group Rate Plan for One or More Nights 

When a group rate plan is selected for any night of the reservation, the reservation will be associated with the selected group. The following policies will be updated to match the group configuration: 

  • Deposit Policy (applies only when reservation is RES or Arriving)  

  • Cancellation Policy  

  • No‑Show Policy  

  • Early Departure Policy 

When the group has components configured, the group components will be added to the reservation. When the group has a routing rule configured, the group reservation routing rule will be applied to the reservation automatically. 

Apply Reservation Presets 

When a regular reservation is modified as a group reservation in the Modify Stay screen, the following reservation presets configured for the group will be applied unless manually overridden: 

  • Guest Type  

  • Market Segment  

  • Source of Business  

  • Loyalty Program  

  • Group Intermediary ID  

  • Housekeeping Pattern  

  • Auto Recurring Charge Rule  

  • Exclude Room Features  

  • Tax Exempt  

  • Key Access Area  

  • SMS Notifications  

  • Confirmation Numbers